katiemang

Just another WordPress.com site

W2: Finding (one) More (hour of) Time


When faced with any major task, challenge or goal, time becomes a vital element to our success. We all need time to make our thoughts become actions, however we have all been faced with these dilemmas or guilty of the following excuses:

  • I don’t have enough time
  • There are not enough hours in a day
  • This is a waste of my time
  • So little time, so much to do
  • My calendar is full…
  • That project is time consuming
  • (Got another “good” one? Let me know and I will add it!)

And, yes I am guilty of all of these, too. Despite my excuses I like to think about about time in a different way, as John F. Kennedy so poignantly said: “We must use time as a tool, not a crutch.” So, this week my challenge is to do just that – turning time from my enemy into a tool that I can use to my advantage.

My challenge for this week is to add one more productive hour to each day Monday – Saturday. I will accomplish this by waking up one hour earlier. My typical routine in the morning is to wake around 7am and head to the bus to begin my morning commute by 8:15am (or 8:35 if I am running late). This week I will wake up at 6am every day and use the time to be productive. I can use this hour to get ready for my day, exercise, eat a much better breakfast, read, write or catch up on any chores – sitting around will not cut it! I will be sure to log all of my activites to be more accountable.

The CDC recommends that adults get 7-9 hours of sleep each night and quality of sleep is just as important as length. This week I will not only add an hour to my day by waking up early, but I will not sacrafice the quality and quantity of sleep. Throughout the week I will put an extra emphasis on my own sleep hygene (and you should, too!). I already have many healthy sleep habits and recieve the recommended amount, but I will be sure that if I need extra rest to get to bed earlier, as well as keep my sleep routine consistent and comfortable.

My hope for this project is that as I progress throughout my #challenge26 year, time will not become a crutch or excuse to accomplish my goals. Promoting healthy habits and stretching myself are at the core of my challenges, and hopefully this will set the stage for my year to come. Do you have other ways that you add an hour to your day? Tried this challenge in the past and passed/failed? What is your sleep and wake up routines? Please share – I would love to hear about them!

So far, this challenge is off to a great start! I woke up at 6am today (Monday, February 14th) and have taken my dog on a 30 min jog, replied to personal emails from this weekend, caught up on my blog roll and finished this blog entry. What else can I accomplish this week by adding just an extra hour?

3 responses to “W2: Finding (one) More (hour of) Time

  1. amy February 14, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    Just checking out your blog for the first time. I love it!

    Nice job on kicking the week off right!

  2. Pingback: W2: Finding (one) More (hour of) Time Reflection « katiemang

Leave a Reply

