katiemang

Just another WordPress.com site

W2: Finding (one) More (hour of) Time Reflection


It was not enough for me to satisfy my Challenge: Finding More Time by just waking up one hour earlier each day, I wasn’t exactly sure what I was going to gain by this challenge but I feel that I met my expectations and exceeded them in many aspects, as well.

Yes, I met the physical challenge of this activity- I woke up one hour earlier than usual (6am weekdays, 8am Saturday) and used that time to be productive. I also set out this week to pay attention to my sleep schedule, as to ensure that I was getting the recommended quality and quanity of sleep.

Throughout the week I woke up at 6am and I was productive! I got much more exercise, laundry was finshed, emails were answered, blogs were read, dishes were cleaned and the dog was walked. All things that I do on a average week day, but were complete by 7am, when I am usually just hitting the alarm and rationalizing “5 more minutes.” I am not saying it was easy, if I wasn’t holding myself accountable here, I am unsure if this would have been so successful.

By accomplishing so much in the early moments of my day – I found that this started to have a unexpected, yet very welcome ripple effect in other areas of my life. Having more time to get necessary tasks done, freed up my time to do other, in some cases more necessary things. I consistently ate a complete breakfast for maybe the first time in my adult life. I had time to pack much healthier lunch items, instead of buying take out or throwing an instant processed lunch in my purse. It freed up evening chores time, so that I could spend it relaxing from my day and talking about other things with my husband.

I feel that those around me also  benefitted from my motivation and momentum from starting the day early. I became uber productive and creative at work, had more time to touch base with friends and family in the afternoon and the pup certainly enjoyed the much longer jogs in the park in the morning.

This “found” hour of the day had a much longer lasting impact on my week – this hour to myself, all by myself provided some much needed me-space and self-reflection. I feel myself simply becoming happier, movitated and slowly, possibly healthier. I was more intuned with feeling my body’s needs for more sleep at the end of the day or hunger for a complete breakfast. I also enjoyed things that I sometimes avoid or dread, because I knew of the benefits of getting it done early and not feeling rushed to just get it done. I know now that short on time, is nearly just an excuse. If you really need to and want to accomplish your goals… if it is important you can really find the time.

I hope to keep this momentum going and will regularly check in from time to time on my progress… I would love to hear from others who have found this simple change successful/unscuccessful, too. 

Now, it’s just past noon on Saturday and with everything done, the dryer humming, my hubby lending a hand with things that seem to “slip down the honey-do list” and my pup tired from a long sunny walk… I am excited for the full weekend ahead of me for rest, relaxation and whatever else we please.  

Time is no longer an excuse! Next time I am faced with a task, challenge or goal.. I will no longer say “I didn’t have the time”. I will really think about what is at the root of my excuse… is it something that I didn’t want to do, unsure how or possibly afraid to fail. No matter the excuse, time can be found and it can have a wonderful ripple effect.

One response to “W2: Finding (one) More (hour of) Time Reflection

  1. Rana February 21, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    This has really inspired me to try this. I really think to myself sometimes what if I had more time? I feel like i never have “time” to get so much accomplished, but i really think that if I added an hour it would help. I want to thank you for the inspiration and I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

